Thursday, 27 Jan 2022

The Outcomes Assessment Phases in the Instructional

The Outcomes Assessment Phases in the Instructional Cycle

The Outcomes Assessment Phases in the Instructional Cycle. The instructional cycle is a framework for effective classroom instruction that emphasizes the importance of student achievement data in planning curriculum. This framework divides the instructional process into three phases: planning, teaching, and evaluating.

The Outcomes Assessment Phases in the Instructional Cycle. The outcomes assessment phase of this framework looks specifically at which assessment tools are most effective for gathering data to inform educational decision-making.

The Outcomes Assessment Phases in the Instructional Cycle. This post will provide information on how to identify which types of assessments are most appropriate based on our needs as teachers and administrators, as well as how to set up an assessment regimen with the appropriate tools in order to gather important data for use in both our own individual classrooms and within whole school district settings.

The Outcomes Assessment phase of the instructional cycle is focused specifically on identifying the most appropriate types of assessments for our own students as well as for use within our building or school. This phase “includes decisions about the goals to be pursued, the assessment tools that will best achieve those goals, and how the data from those assessments will be used” (McCormick & Jones, 2012, p. 123).

There are many different types of assessments that can be used; they each provide different types of information that can benefit a variety of learners and grade levels. The types of assessments that we should be using in order to provide optimal instruction and intervention can be broken down into three broad categories: 1) diagnostic assessments, 2) summative assessments, and 3) formative assessment.

Diagnostic Assessment Tools
Diagnostic assessments, such as standardized tests and teacher created tests (TCT), provide information about students’ knowledge, skills, or abilities. They are focused on determining whether a student has mastered all of his or her subject matter. For example, there are state mandated tests in the 8th and 9th grade allowing teachers to determine if their students have mastered the content standards expected for that grade level.

Summative Assessment Tools
Summative assessments are similar to diagnostic assessments, except that they are focused on determining whether a student has mastered the skills and knowledge expected for a specific grade level. Summative assessments include tests, portfolios, and other forms of assessment.

For example, summative assessment includes the state standardized tests known as the PARCC and SBAC assessments which measure students’ proficiency in 8th grade English language arts (ELA) and mathematics. The SBAC test is typically taken in grades 4-8, while the PARCC test is taken in grades 3-11. Both assessments provide information about students’ knowledge of all subjects required for graduation from high school.

Image: Pexels


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *